Get to Know the Artist - 20 Questions

As I am continuing to grow as a creative entrepreneur, I am trying to find new ways to connect with my followers. One way that I am going to attempt to do this is by starting a blog - which is wayyyy out of my comfort zone. 
Here are some quick questions to get to know me better!
  1. Full name: Breanna Marie Ellevold

  2. Where do you live? I live in a small town in Western Wisconsin, only about an hour East of the Twin Cities. I am the biggest freeze baby - I always question why I live here but it is where my family is and Summers here are pretty amazing. 

  3. What kind of art do you create? I love being creative. I create polymer clay jewelry, primarily earrings. I also love to paint using acrylic paints - mainly florals. I love to incorporate my love for florals into my jewelry work by hand-painting flowers onto the polymer clay or adding pressed dried flowers. 

  4. Who are your favorite artists? I love so many artists. I follow many of them on instagram and following along with their creative practices brings me infinite joy. Some of my favorites are: Annie Quigley, Greta Lindquist, Emily Jeffords, Brooke Ring Mary Frances Carter, Julie Battisti, and Brooke Cormier. 

  5. Do you have any hobbies besides art? Reading! I am a complete book nerd - and read a book every 4-5 days or so. I primarily read historical fiction - but venture into other genres once and a while. Send me all of your recommendations! 

  6. What is something that you are very bad at? Singing. Jumping. Catching and throwing balls. Public Speaking. Parallel Parking.

  7. What colors do you wear most often? Neutrals- grey, black, muted green. If I am at home, I am in loungewear. 

  8. As a kid, what did you want to be when you grew up? I have always wanted to be a teacher and that is what I officially went to school in order to become. I taught elementary education for 5 years (while running this creative business on the side) until I decided to focus on my art full-time during the Pandemic. I am undecided as to whether I will go back into the classroom!

  9. What are a few of your big artist goals? I am currently working through Emily Jeffords' Making Art Work course for the second time and goal setting is a huge component of my work. I would love to someday incorporate a passive form of income into my business (art prints, licensed work, online courses, etc.). I would love to learn pattern design so I could make wallpaper, wrapping paper, fabric, etc. It be amazing to be successful enough with my earring business to be able to hire some help in the studio. I would also love to continue to grow my following within the United States and internationally. 

  10. Describe yourself in a hashtag? #inspiredbyflorals

  11. What’s your favorite time of day? Morning - after I have woken up and it is still acceptable to be sitting on the couch in my pajamas with a book.

  12. Dream country to visit? Germany

  13. What are three things you can’t live without? Family, art supplies, and a book

  14. Most adventurous thing you’ve done in your life? Cliff jumping in Maui with my husband and also snorkeling in the open ocean but I also had a panic attack and cried and swam back to the boat (lol).

  15. A book that everyone should read? The Nightingale by Kristin Hannah

  16. What’s your favorite board game? Scrabble

  17. Where did you meet your husband? We actually attended catholic school together when we were younger. We met in 3rd grade. I "dated" him in 5th grade but he broke up with me because I wouldn't hug him during recess. We started "dating" again in 8th grade - and we have been together and he has been my best friend ever since.

  18. Introvert or Extrovert? I might be the biggest introvert ever. 

  19. How long does it take you to get ready? Literally 5 minutes. I brush my teeth, put contacts in, wash my face, put on lotion, and *sometimes* mascara. That is it.

  20. What do you see around you right now? It is Sunday morning so I am sitting in the living room in my pajamas with a blanket. I have water and a cinnamon scone. My oldest son, Brody, is watching youtube videos comparing different go-cart engine types (IYKYK). My youngest, Rory, is sitting on the floor making a book out of construction paper about his stuffed bear. My middle baby, Blair, is working on our Marvel jigsaw puzzle. I haven't cleaned the kitchen from breakfast and I have laundry waiting to be folded but - it is a quiet morning and for that I am grateful.

Leave a comment

Please note, comments must be approved before they are published